Samsung M4020nd Reset Errors

Why do I need a data reset

Resetting device data (factory reset, hard reset, factory reset) is the deletion of all data from a smartphone or tablet: contacts, messages, downloaded applications, photos, music, mail settings, alarms. After a reset, the smartphone or tablet returns to the factory state.

Typically, data is reset in the following cases:

  • Before selling or transferring the device to another person;
  • If there is any problem on the device that cannot be fixed in other ways;
  • After updating the device software (firmware).

What to do before resetting data

1. Copy important information from the device.

During a reset, the device’s memory will be cleared and all data will be deleted. If there is any important data, make a copy of it.

2. Remove the Google account from the device.

If this is not done, then when you turn on the device after a reset, the account that was on the device before the reset will be requested. Without entering this account, turning on the device will not work.

The first way to reset the data is through the menu

Samsung M4020nd Reset Errors

Select "General Settings". If there is no such item, proceed to the next step.

Select "Reset". It may also be called “Archiving and Reset”, “Archiving and Reset” or “Confidentiality”.

Select “Reset Data” or “Reset Device”.

Select Reset, Reset Device, or Delete All.

Video: Samsung M4020nd Reset Errors


The device will reboot and the data will be deleted.

The second way to reset the data is by using the buttons

This method is used when the smartphone or tablet does not turn on or the screen is locked.

Turn off your mobile device.

If your device there is a home button (bottom center), simultaneously press and hold the Power button, Home volume up.

If your device there is a button "Bixby" (on the left under the volume buttons), simultaneously press and hold the “Power” “Volume up” “Bixby” buttons.

If your device there are no buttons "Home" and "Bixby", simultaneously press and hold the “Power” “Volume Up” buttons.

Release the “Power” button after “Samsung Galaxy. ". Keep the remaining buttons until Recovery appears (approximately 5-15 seconds). Recovery is a special device boot mode that looks like a text menu.

If Recovery does not appear, repeat steps 1-3 again longer holding down the buttons.

Press the Volume Down button to select Wipe data / factory reset.

Press the “Power” button to confirm the selected item.

Press the Volume Down button to select Yes or Yes. Delete all user data.

Press the “Power” button to confirm the deletion of all data from the device.

After deleting the data, the main menu will appear. Press the “Power” button to select “Reboot system now”.

If the device does not turn on after a reset, a Google account is required

If the device does not turn on after a reset (freezes)

Contact the Samsung service center, you need to reinstall the firmware by engineering.