Reset Macbook Air To Factory

Reset Macbook Air To Factory

Feel you need to start all over from scratch? Be aware that you can restore your Mac to the factory settings at any time. This means that all the results of your activity will be erased, and the device will look like out of the box (maybe with the exception of a couple of scratches). This is a simple procedure that does not take much time, and we will tell you how to conduct it safely and effectively.

Often the deletion of all data becomes a cause for concern and even tantrums, but there are cases where you can not do without it. For example, if you decide to sell your computer. Part of this is removing the device from iTunes and disconnecting all connections to the cloud. But another important aspect is the restoration of factory settings.

First, make sure your Mac is connected to the Internet. The formatting process for the disk is quite simple, but you will need to access the factory settings when everything is finished. It also doesn’t hurt to connect your MacBook to the network to avoid running out of battery.

Now go to the Apple menu (the one on which the Apple logo is) and select the reboot command. Wait until the computer turns off and starts turning on again, then when the gray reboot screen appears, hold down the Command key and the R key.

This takes you to OS X utilities where you can make important and potentially dangerous changes. Select Disk Utility. Now the process will begin to slightly differ depending on the version of OS X. Here you need to find the required drives, select them and go to the Erase tab. Next, in the format options, select Mac OS Extended (journal) and click Erase again. After completing the procedure, go to the Disk Utility menu and select Quit.

Now you have deleted all the data, but this is only half the way. When you exit the Disk Utility menu, you will see Reinstall current OS X. Select this option and confirm that you really want to continue. You may have to go through a few confirmations before the installation is ready to begin.

Here you need an Internet connection. Apple stores all factory data on its servers, so your Mac can find the original version of the operating system and download all its settings.

Note: this online solution only works for new OS X versions starting with like Lion, Mountain Lion. If you are running Snow Leopard or an earlier version of OS X, you will need the original installation disc that came with your computer.

Obviously, a complete reset is a serious step, and you need to make sure that no important data is lost. Backing up your computer is a necessary part of the procedure and it is strongly recommended that you start with it. Here are some ways you can save data.

  • Use Time Machine, if possible. The program will save the settings and data to an external drive. After that, you can put a “snapshot” of your Mac, including all the information, in the Time Capsule and move them to another system.
  • You may need to reinstall Apple applications on the new computer. Visit the Mac App Store and you will see the option to reinstall all applications.
  • If you already have a second computer, you can use the Migration Assistant to simply move data using fast disk cloning.
  • Cloud backup may help a little, but its volume is unlikely to be enough for all the information on the computer system, so in such procedures it is better to use physical methods of copying.