Iphone 7 Video Settings

Resetting the iPhone may be needed in various situations. For example, in the case of the sale of a device or in the event of various software failures.

In this article, we will look at two ways at once how to reset iPhone to factory settings. These methods will be relevant for all the latest models of smartphones from Apple, including iPhone 4, 4s, 5, 5s, 6, 6s and 7.

IPhone Reset Precautions

But, before you begin to describe how to reset iPhone to factory settings, you need to make some warnings.

  • Before proceeding with the reset, you need to make sure that the iPhone is at least 30 percent charged. Because if it is discharged during a reset, this will create additional problems for you.
  • Do not reset the jailbreak iPhone. Otherwise, it may cause the smartphone to freeze at boot time.
  • Before resetting the iPhone, it is highly advisable to make a backup. If necessary, this will allow you to restore important information that was on the device before the reset. In order to make a backup, you need to connect the iPhone to the computer, launch iTunes and open “File. Devices. Create backup”.

Factory reset iPhone to factory settings

The easiest way to reset iPhone to factory settings is to use a special function in the settings of the device itself. To do this, open the "Settings" application on the iPhone and go to the "Basic" section.

Iphone 7 Video Settings

After that, go to the settings subsection called “Reset”. This section should be at the very bottom of the "Basic" section.

After that, you will see a list of what you can reset on the iPhone. At the very top there will be two main options for resetting the settings: “Reset All Settings” and “Reset Content and Settings”.

Video: Iphone 7 Video Settings


The first option, “Reset All Settings,” is a reset that only affects your iPhone’s settings. In this case, all your personal data (including photos, contacts, music) will remain in the smartphone’s memory.

The second option "Reset content and settings" is a full reset of the iPhone. In this case, not only iPhone settings will be deleted, but also all content in its memory. In other words, all user data will be deleted from the smartphone’s memory.

In addition to this, in the “Reset” section, there are other ways to reset the settings: Reset the network settings, reset the keyboard dictionary, reset the “Home” button and reset the geolocation settings. These reset methods affect only specific iPhone settings.

Reset iPhone to factory settings via iTunes

The second way to reset iPhone to factory settings is to use iTunes. But, in order to use this method, you must first change some settings on the iPhone.

To do this, go to the settings on the iPhone and open the "iCloud" section. Here you need to find the “Find iPhone” function and disable it. Please note, in order to disable this feature, you will need to enter a password from iCloud.

After the “Find iPhone” function is disabled, you can proceed to reset the settings. To do this, connect your iPhone to your computer and launch iTunes. After iTunes detects iPhone, you need to click on the device icon in the upper left corner of the program.

Next, go to the "Overview" section.

And click on the "Restore iPhone" button. Please note, just below there is also a “Restore from copy” button. This button is responsible for restoring the iPhone from a previously created backup and has nothing to do with resetting the settings. Therefore, do not confuse the "Restore iPhone" and "Restore from copy" buttons.

After clicking on the “Restore iPhone” button, a pop-up window will appear with a warning about resetting the iPhone to the factory settings. In order to confirm the reset, click on the “Restore” button. After that, iTunes will begin the reset process on your iPhone.

In addition, iTunes allows you to reset iPhone to the factory settings in recovery mode. To do this, connect the iPhone to the computer, hold down the power button and the Home button and hold them for ten seconds, after which you need to release the power button and continue to hold the Home button. Thus, you put the iPhone in recovery mode. Now you just need to click on the “Restore iPhone” button in iTunes and wait until the reset process is completed.