Article

How to Clear Your Smartphone Search History

How to Clear Your Smartphone Search History

There are many reasons that make you delete your Internet search history, some of which are extremely important. Here’s how to delete your search history on your phone and other devices. Read our guide.

Firstly, browser history and search history are two different things. We already wrote about how to clear the history of Safari on the iPhone 6, in the same guide we will figure out how to clear the search history on the phone and not only.

If you are logged into your Google account, every search you conduct will be recorded and stored in your Google search history. Google may use this data to learn more about you as a person and to satisfy subsequent search results based on what you searched for before. However, if you do not want to be judged by Google based on what you are looking for, you probably want to delete your search history.

In this guide, we’ll look at how to delete Google search history from a desktop or laptop computer, and how to delete history from your phone.

Desktop and laptop computers

To delete your Google search history on your desktop or laptop, simply follow these simple steps:

Go to www.google.com/history. Google will prompt you to sign in if you haven’t done this before.

You should see a screen that shows all your recent searches. Go ahead, click on the gear icon in the upper right corner, and then select “Settings”:

In the window that opens, you will see the text and the delete button for the entire story. Click on it (Delete All), press the button again when a pop-up window appears.

If you don’t want Google to keep track of your search history, go ahead and click “Disable” next to the corresponding entry. All is ready!

Delete phone search history

There are several ways you can delete your Google search history from your phone. You can open a mobile web browser and repeat the steps described above, and you can also do this through the Google application on iOS or Android. On Android, the process is no different from the one described above. Just enter the history URL (shown above) in the Google search application, and you will go to the settings identical to the desktop computer, just in a smaller screen.

As for iOS users and the Google Search application, you just have to open it and complete the following steps:

Sign in to your Google Account if you haven’t already done so by clicking Sign in in the upper right corner.

Next, click on the gear icon in the upper right corner and go to the “Privacy Settings”. “View” section.

Click “Clear device history,” then press the button again when a pop-up window appears.

If you don’t want Google to keep track of your search history on your iPhone or iPad, turn off the toggle switch, which is opposite the line “Save history on device”.

Click the “Save / Apply” button in the upper right corner to complete the operation.

How to prevent this?

Now that you have deleted your search history on the phone, you probably want to prevent the search history from being saved, and we have already shown several ways to disable this feature once and for all.

However, there’s another easy way to prevent Google from tracking your Google search history and linking it to your account. To do this, you need to use incognito mode or private viewing mode in your browser. This function opens a new window that does not record search history in any account or browser. This is very useful when you do not want to mess with the settings in your Google account.

Otherwise, we strongly recommend that you take the time to change these settings on your desktop computer, laptop or phone. You will be grateful to yourself for doing this.

TURBION.NET 2021